I realize I spend a bit of time each day educating people on Colorado laws regarding scooters. There is a misconception that Colorado does NOT require a drivers license to operate a 49cc Scooter. Well, I hate to be the bubble buster, but that is NOT correct.
There may be some States that allow someone with a DUI to ride a scooter (although while researching this I could not find one), but Colorado is NOT one of them. So where did this come from?
- Unscrupulous dealers who want to sell you anything at any price! I have had many people tell me they bought a scooter from a dealer who “told them it was legal if you have a suspended license”.
- The misconception that a 49cc scooter is just an bike with an engine. They are either 2 or 4 stroke engines and have enough power at times to go 40mph. This is a powerful engine and should be treated as such.
- When you have a problem (like a DUI) you REALLY want a solution! It sucks I am sure to be without a drivers license, but the consequences of being caught driving a Scooter without a license could REALLY suck! It could result in up to 6 mos. in jail, $500 or in some cases a misdemeanor. Not worth it.
So each day, someone comes by and asks me, “I have a DUI and I was told I could ride a scooter”. I wish I could reach the person who is saying this. It seems like a very wide spread rumor from State to State.
Todays thoughts: Don’t believe everything you hear! If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is! You probably sit in front of computer a few hours a day…use it. Research things that you have questions about. Don’t just rely on here say and assume it must be true. There is nothing more exciting or sexy then someone who feeds their brain!