Scooter Curious

Women:

I realize that’s not much of a scooter topic, but it is a good topic!

As a woman business owner and a woman who has never fit a traditional mold very well, I feel compelled to stand on my mountain top once in awhile I profess the joys of being a woman.

Orange Is The New Black…great example.  Is the fascination just about the titillation or is it how strong and complex these woman are?  I believe strongly that a show like this first pulls you in with the titillation, but just like in real life, that isn’t enough.  As a woman we need to show we have depth and strength.  So how wonderful is it that people are so drawn to this?  We as a public are hungry for female characters who posses both beauty and strength, not that surprising is it?

We are seeing more and more woman opening businesses and being successful.  Let’s face it, we have a long way to go, but the numbers are rising.  On Forbes 2013 list of The Worlds Richest People, 138 out of 1,426 are woman.  Seem small? Well, it’s actually up 104 from the year prior.  That’s a huge leap!

As a woman, I am grateful and proud of what I have accomplished in this life so far.  I cannot not deny that some doors have not been as open as others because of my gender, but when push comes to shove, I seem to squeeze my foot in.  I have been watching some old t.v. shows recently and I am amazed at where we were just 40 years ago!  I know Fathers Day is just around the corner and I will gladly celebrate the role of men in this world, but until then…I say raise your Female Flag high!  Embrace the curves, the emotions, the giggles, the tears, the heels and all that is you.  Give yourself a hug and remind yourself how cool it is to be a woman.  We can catch their attention (thus the titillation) and then wow them with our strength and intelligence.  Sounds like a great combination to me.

Thoughts for today:  Attitude of Gratitude.  This is the body and soul you were given.  Love it, cherish it and treat it well. Be kind to others and give back.  As women, reach out and help other women who are in your shoes…we learn best from example. So go be a great example!

 

Leave a Reply

