Scooter Curious….how common is the common cold?

cold

Ok, I get whiny just like everyone else when I catch a cold in the summer. It’s never fun.

But it got me wondering…how common is the common cold?

On average an adult will have 2 -4 colds a year and a child 3-8.  Wow, I guess I feel lucky this is my first cold of the year.  And it also makes me appreciate having all my kids grown and out of the house!

So what are some “uncommon” cures for the common cold?  I came across a few

  • Lizard Soup- Yep, it really exists and I think I will pass!
  • Wet Socks- Get your feet really warm, then add cold wet socks and go to bed. For some reason I feel like this one is similar to “how to get someone to wet the bed”!
  • Snail Syrup- as if the mucus coming out of your body isn’t enough?! ewww

Oh the list goes on and on. And the common cold has been around since before the 16th century (which btw is whey we call in a cold..they often attributed the illness to the cold weather), and we still can’t “cure” it. Do you have your favorite rituals or cures?

I like to drink Sprite or 7-up and cranberry juice. I put a little Vicks Vapor Rub on my chest and drink a little whiskey and honey (not sure if that works, but it sure makes me sleep good!).

Todays Thoughts:

You can run, but you can’t hide from day to day things like a cold. You can plan for the future and have all your ducks in a row, but the rug can be pulled out with a simple…ACHOO!  Go take good care of yourself, pay attention to how much sleep you get and how much water you drink. Don’t beat yourself up if you get struck down…just pamper yourself with your best family remedy and if all else fails…Call you Mother and whine!

Leave a Reply

